## Walworth Postmasters Through the Years By Dorothy French

In our last issue Gordon Youngman wrote about the history of the Walworth Post Office and listed names of several postmasters. Gordon noted that prior to April 1829 our area was part of the Town of Ontario in Ontario County. Harry S. Moore was appointed postmaster 01.27.1823. In April 1823, we became part of Wayne County; postmasters were Allen H. Howland (04.01.1824) and Vaniah Yeomans (11.21.1828). On 12.23.1830 our post office name was changed to Walworth and Luther Tucker, who was appointed postmaster on 09.25.1829, continued in that position until 1837. Here's a list of the postmasters who have served Walworth through the years.

Name	Title	Appt.	Name	Title	Appt.
Luther Tucker	Postmaster	09.25.1829	Mrs. Gwendolyn L. Naber	Acting Postmaster	07.19.1944
Benjamin Billings, Jr.	u	04.10.1837	Mrs. Gwendolyn L. Naber	Postmaster	05.29.1945
Albigence W. Tucker	u	01.27.1840	Mrs. Gladys VanHaneghem	Acting "	05.03.1957
Vaniah Yeomans	u	07.15.1841	Mrs. Glaldys VanHaneghem	Postmaster	07.16.1958
Lewis Eddy	"	03.29.1842	Mrs. Etta M. Bavis	Acting "	08.23.1968
Theron G. Yeomans	"	06.13.1844	Mrs. Pearl N. Scott	Officer-in Charge	04.01.1969
Benjamin Billings	íí	06.30.1846	Mrs. Pearl N. Scott	Postmaster	03.20.1971
Elias D. Cone	"	12.12.1849	Mrs. Etta M. Bavis	Officer-in-Charge	10.31.1975
John McLouth	íí	03.25.1851	Joseph A. VanHaelst	Postmaster	01.03.1976
Riley Hill	íí	05.16.1853	Peter Dougherty	Officer-in-Charge	12.03.1980
John W. Baker	íí	05.10.1861	Lawrence J. Smith	Postmaster	05.30.1981
Nathan S. Eddy	íí	10.31.1866	Verna Stewart	Officer-in-Charge	No date listed
John W. Baker	íí	05.31.1867	Lisa Haun	Officer-in-Charge	09.26.1985
Theron G. Yeomans	íí	09.25.1877	Thomas C. McLouth	Postmaster	10.26.1985
John W. Baker	íí	10.23.1878	Linda C. Pembroke	Officer-in-Charge	03.24.2004
Copeland A. Morse	"	07.07.1893	Ronald P. Coon	Postmaster	08.07.2004
John W. Baker	"	12.08.1896	Scott C. McKay	Officer-in-Charge	03.29.2006
William A. Baker	"	10.06.1899	Paul J. Sidoti	Postmaster	08.05.2006
Harry E. Conant	"	07.16.1915	Brian L. Nau	Officer-in-Charge	06.08.2010
Charles W. Clark	Acting "	06.10.1922	Joe Buttaccio	tt.	01.05.2011
Charles W. Clark	Postmaster	08.14.1922	Karen Walker	tt.	02.02.2011
Irvin M. Salyerds	Acting "	05.01.1925	Brian L. Nau	tt.	06.24.2011
Irvin M. Salyerds	Postmaster	08.05.1926	Brian L. Nau	Postmaster	04.20.2013
Charles M. Buckley	Acting "	01.01.1941	Eileen Fioco	Officer-in-Charge	02.10.2014